Analysis of Names and Phrases – Crook and Ladder

This post explores the meanings behind the new names and words that are used in the Crook and Ladder event.

Title

Crook and Ladder.

The title of this event obviously alludes to the board game Shoots and Ladders. Ladder because a fire truck has one and it’s used in fire rescue. Crook may refer to the Crook County Fire and Rescue in Prineville, OR. Or maybe the Crook Fire Station in the UK (which features a nearly identical, but reverse, design of the fire station). Though, there is a Simpsons episode with this same title that features some thievery (Homer acts like a crook). This event did not feature that.

Job

Make [Springfielders] Throw E.L. James Books on the Fire.

E.L. James books equates directly to the Fifty Shades of Grey series. They would not only be good fodder for a book burning because of their erotic content, but also for their poor quality. There may also be a pun in it being a “Christian” book burning, because Christian Grey is the namesake of the series.

13 comments on “Analysis of Names and Phrases – Crook and Ladder

  1. Vanessa M. Y. says:

    Hmmm I Googled “shoots and ladders” and it says it’s a Korn song, and that this game board you mentioned is actually “chutes and ladders”. What sounds weird to me, since “chute” means “kick” in Portuguese. And I’m kinda embarrassed, and sad, that I have never heard of this game before, and apparently, according to Wikipedia, it’s a “worldwide classic”. There’s not even a Portuguese page for this game there. I feel left out. Also, I found that “Crook and Ladder” is The Simpsons’ S18EP19’s name.

    As for the job – I was playing the game in such a hurry during the mini-event that I didn’t even realize they mentioned burning books. I think I remember the library catching on fire, but that’s all…

    Thanks for this post. The Simpsons is such a bombardment of puns and cultural references that, unless we are unrealistically omniscient (I know it was redundant, just wanted to emphasize), we end up missing out on a LOT of stuff, and being a non-English speaker doesn’t help. Actually many times you HAVE to be American, or be living in the USA, to understand The Simpsons.

    Liked by 1 person

    • simp7fan says:

      Hey, thanks! For, like, making me wrong. 😉 Well, apparently “shoots” and “chutes” are essentially synonyms in N.America….and that’s where I am. Haha, yeah, I was probably influenced by that Korn song (it is a funny-type song, what with it covering all sorts of “childrens” songs).

      This is what I was thinking of, when I say the board game:

      (I hope that shows up)

      Like

      • Vanessa M. Y. says:

        I know, I searched on Google Images too, to make sure it was “chutes” and not “shoots”. 😛

        You should have mentioned the Korn song, IMO. Like an addendum; just for people like me not to think you’re pretending you knew this song… You know, this kind of people are a pain in the ass and will not miss a chance to rub in your face something like that. Just sayin’. 😅

        Liked by 1 person

        • simp7fan says:

          I wasn’t thinking of the song, but it was in my subconscious. It’s one of my favorite songs, even though it’s kinda dumb and goofy. Funnily enough the most embarrassing Korn songs to listen to are the child rhymes one and the song called Daddy. You’re free to Google that song and find out about its content.

          I don’t mind if you don’t believe me, but have a listen to the song.

          Like

        • Vanessa M. Y. says:

          I couldn’t listen to the song (Daddy) til the end. Having worked as a prosecution assistant, it disturbes me more than I’d like.

          Like

        • simp7fan says:

          You couldn’t make it to the end, you mean?

          Well, that’s probably a good thing…because the end is the more embarrassing, disturbing part.

          That’s interesting that you’ve been in that line of work. All I know, not having been in that kind of work, nor having been “violated”, is that it’s still a disturbing song to me.

          So, do you believe me now? Or are we just not friends anymore anyways? 😉 😦 😛

          Like

        • Vanessa M. Y. says:

          I couldn’t make it to the end, yes. I don’t mind listening to “Rape Me” by Nirvana, but this is just TOO disturbing to me.

          I’m not sure what you’re asking, if I believe you or not… But I want to believe you. Can you tell me what that is, so I tell you whether it’s believable?

          Like

        • simp7fan says:

          To believe that I knew of the song Shoots and Ladders before you mentioned it. lol

          Also, sorry for disturbing you…

          Rape Me might not be as disturbing as the song title implies. Try “Polly” and tell me if that’s more in line with disturbing Vanessa. 😉

          Also, pre-sorry for that, too.

          Like

        • Vanessa M. Y. says:

          I believe you 😉

          Polly is okay, too. Actually I like this song very much. I can’t think of a Nirvana song that has disturbed me… Just mentioned “Rape Me” ’cause it was the only song with “rape” I could think of.

          Liked by 1 person

        • simp7fan says:

          That’s good. Don’t want to be too disturbed. Unless you’re listening to Disturbed, and then you’ll be disappointed if you’re not.

          Like

        • Vanessa M. Y. says:

          But if I listen to/watch something that was supposed to disturb me, but instead I get disappointed it didn’t, it’s actually more disturbing, isn’t it? ‘Cause that would mean I wanted it to be disturbing… 😱

          Liked by 1 person

        • simp7fan says:

          “It” wouldn’t be disturbing, but “you” would be a disturbed person, yes. lol. Don’t ask. 😐

          Like

        • Vanessa M. Y. says:

          😛

          Like

Join or create a discussion. Leave a reply. Mark* It ^Up!

