Trivial Analysis – Wild West Act 3

This post explores the meanings behind the new items and words that are included in the Wild West event. This covers Act 3. Warning: There is a single “bad word” listed in the article.

Buildings or Decorations

Sneed’s Feed and Seed has a joke built into its name. The building’s sign also reads “(Formerly Chuck’s)”. Wikisimpsons explains that the joke exists in the rhyming pattern of the name. Where the current name rhymes with “-eed” for each syllable, the former sign would have read with all “-uck”. Assuming that all the starting letters stayed the same, the former sign would read: “Chuck’s Fuck and Suck”.

I think the reason that wasn’t clear to me from the start is because a “Fuck and Suck” doesn’t make sense for a store… Also, consider that it’s a “formerly” situation, which would most likely mean that it’s the same type of store (a feed store), maybe even with the same exact name save for the “Sneed” or “Chuck” (ownership). I guess this is a “dirty minds” joke, one that we think of regardless of its logical conclusion.

Also, Sneed is a very rare name. Last name, as far as I can tell. Chuck is usually a first name, but is listed as a rare last name, as well.

Jobs

For the Plaza jobs we find that not everyone can do every job. There are 16 characters available, but only 12 can do a job for each craze.

Not considering characters that can join in every craze (that’s six characters), I’m going to figure out the issues with the rest.

  • Lisa can only Ominously Warn (collect gold coins). I don’t know why “warning” equals gold coins. Lisa not being involved in the other crazes make sense as she’s normally “above it all”.
  • Snake can only join in collecting pickaxes and guns. Collecting guns makes sense since that is his craze (Instigate Chaos/Lawlessness), but why not hats, since he has a hat? (But that’s only his skin, Outlaw Snake.) He doesn’t Overreact to Warnings (gold coins) because he’s part of the reason for the warnings. But why would he ever turn down an opportunity to get his hands on some gold?
  • Gummy Joe is interested in everything except for the gold. He stated in the dialogue that he just wanted Old Springfield to be built and that they could have the gold.
  • Marge is interested in everything except for Abusing Lawlessness. Sounds about right for the fretful mother to be against guns and for law-abidingness.
  • Bart is probably not allowed to enjoy the guns because of Marge. But I don’t understand why he’s not participating in the gold.
  • Krusty, Wiggum, and The Rich Texan have no interest in Buying Overpriced Supplies because that would mean manual labor (pickaxes).
  • The Rich Texan is really just interested in hats and guns, which goes with his stereotype. He might not care about the gold because he’s rich enough.
  • Wiggum might not care to switch his hat. Though, he seems a likely character to Get Riled Up
  • Belle also doesn’t seem likely to sport a cowboy hat.
  • Lurleen’s lack of interest in guns makes sense according to her songs, which don’t have any content about shooting someone who “done her wrong”. She’s actually a pretty nice woman — except for the man stealing. And that’s just not a crime. 😉

Dialogue

“He wields a mighty hammer called, uh, Blargnak.”

This sure sounds like an “homage” to Thor and his hammer, Mjölnir. Homer even paints thunderbolts on the side of it. The question is how did they arrive at this name and spelling?

The first thing we can consider is how it sounds. It has the feel of being a Nordic word, yet is written and pronounceable as a Germanic word. (I can’t explain that notion.) As an English speaker it is easily pronounceable to me, whereas Mjölnir takes at least a guess or two to pronounce (and I’d probably still be wrong about it).

It could be that the second ‘a’ in “Blargnak” is pronounced more like the ‘a’ in “flaunt” than the ‘a’ in “at”. “Blargnok” (with an ‘o’ in the second syllable) actually gets some better search results. This word turns up only a couple results that are fictional as well. It seems to be used as placeholder. There’s a Twitter user going by “Blargnok”, but the word remains random.

Trying to break down the word most likely gets us the components “blarg” and “nok”. “Blarg” is an “undefined” utterance, an interjection, usually indicating negative emotion or just some nonsense. While “nok” may be related to the Nordic nǫkkurr, which means “something”, which would be appropriate for a non-sense word. Of course, it’s most likely not constructed by any means other than “being made up”.

In the end I’d define “blargnak” and “blargnok” as nonsense words used as placeholders for something random. I think this is why Homer picks the name using an “uh”, which meant that he hadn’t really picked a good and meaningful name. Homer is lazy or the writers are. 😉


What do you think of these interpretations? Have a different reading of anything? Anything else from the Wild West Event that you wanted covered? Comment below.

6 comments on “Trivial Analysis – Wild West Act 3

  1. vanessamy2542 says:

    I loved the joke behind Sneed’s Feed and Seed’s name! So subtle… And this building was so meh to me that I didn’t pay attention to it, and I didn’t even know about the “Formerly Chuck’s” part (not that I would see the joke if I had seen it). What I mean is, I would never have known about this if it weren’t for you. Thanks!

    I did a little research about Blargnak myself and found nothing as well… I mean, I did find something, about what seems to be a monster/alien character from a podcast series… eh? I have no idea what a podcast is, and I’m sure you came across with this too, but it has obviously nothing to do with Homer’s dialogue… Then I tried reading “Blargnak” backwards, to see if it would be something like “Arbok” (hope you get this Pokémon reference), but that becomes “Kangralb”, which doesn’t make sense, either.

    In the end, I agree with you. “Blargnak” is probably just a nonsense word. But I’ll tell you one thing: Homer and the writers might be lazy, but we (okay, you) sure are not, for putting such an effort into trying to understand what apparently is not even understandable. claps

    Liked by 1 person

    • simp7fan says:

      Firstly, you’re welcome. “Sneed” was the easiest one to go over because of how others had already figured it out. I included it still because it interested me and because apparently it’s almost a hit or miss with people getting it so one more chance for others to know about it is worthy.

      Yes, I appreciate the PKMN reference. 🙂 I also tried backwards spelling. Though, I didn’t try anagrams. I just did and there’s “blank rag”… lol and “ark nag lb” (lb like pound), also lol.

      Yeah, I found that dumb podcast (which are usually long audio “broadcasts” of people talking that you listen to while on commute)…I’ve only made to the half-way mark. It is unrelated except for how the word might have been constructed. Why did they choose the same word (and spelling) as EA did? Theirs is for some sort of “technical alien”, EA’s for a hammer. The word seems almost like if we weren’t restricted to our lexicon we’d be making up these kinds of words all the time. I’m not sure but I think I might have even used the word before. Never wrote it down for any purpose but it’s just so natural (yet alien) sounding.

      And, um, thanks?? 😛 It’s only so much effort into something we don’t know if it’s understandable or not until we get to the end(ish). Now we know. Other times we find the real answer. I’ll accept your claps as encouraging. 😉 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • vanessamy2542 says:

        “Blargnak” is natural sounding for you? Well, that’s interesting… I’m trying to think now what would be the “corresponding” word in Portuguese. Unfortunately, I don’t remember how that part of the dialogue was translated… And there are no walkthroughs in Portuguese available on internet. But I’m guessing it was “Blargnak” as well. I don’t think the translators would care so much about it. I mean, many, many, MANY jokes and puns already fall flat even when they try their hardest not to, so why bother, huh?

        My claps are, indeed, encouraging, because I know how hard it is/can be. I, once, tried to read the The Lusiads (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Os_Lusíadas) on my own, pausing and looking up every word or little excerpt that I thought it was important… I gave up soon after. Lol. But then I found a “collection” (can’t think of the right word) of four books in a used bookstore, and… well, I’ll post a picture, it’s easier:

        See? The left page shows the poem’s stanzas just as they are, and the right page explains them in “modern” Portuguese. Even words I thought I knew, like “ministros” (second line, in bold), have a different meaning in the context of the poem. So, yes, I know how sometimes a “simple” word can be tricky.

        Liked by 1 person

        • simp7fan says:

          Well, it’s not that it’s natural…. um. This is just my perspective and not anyone else’s. But when I say “natural” I mean that it’s possible for me to create a word, one without much thought, without worrying about it following any “rules”, where it would end up much like “blargnak”. The rule would probably be that it fits into the silly realm of words, where it doesn’t need to be decipherable. It’s natural like how I might come up with a silly word for a body part. Kinda like the word “doohickey”, which sounds very much like it’s not any particular word (and yet it has become accepted as a word). I can call a body part a doohickey and people would not really blink as long as there was context. “The doohickey goes in the dumbledore.” 😉

          I’m going to assume that you do know about the Jabberwocky poem:
          http://www.alice-in-wonderland.net/jabberwocky.html
          `Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
          Did gyre and gimble in the wabe;
          All mimsy were the borogoves,
          And the mome raths outgrabe.

          Even if you read the explanations on these words I contend that they still don’t hold much meaning. We might want them to, but they’re just nonsense words. But they are “real” enough that I’d consider them English words. The kind that doesn’t belong in a dictionary.

          Is “annotated edition” the phrase you were looking for? I think books like that are really neat. If all the books/writings I read had annotations… lol. I’m a nerd.

          What’s this poem about, societally? Is this something you have to read in school over there? Why’d you try to read it on your own?

          Liked by 1 person

        • vanessamy2542 says:

          Oh my. Remember I told you I didn’t remember how that “Blargnak” part was translated to Portuguese? Well, that’s because I hadn’t gone through the questline yet 😛 I held off on doing the questlines that required Homer during the Wild West event, then Chiliad mini-event hit soon after; what means that I only got to complete the pending questlines this weekend:
          Ele empunha um poderoso martelo chamado, hã, Blargnak.
          Hah! I am/was right. I knew it!

          I did read Alice books but I don’t remember this poem… It’s been a long time since I read it and I don’t think I looked it up later (to know how the poem originally was in English and try to understand it). I do remember the mouse’s tale, though.

          No, not “annotated edition”… I can’ think of the word even in Portuguese. Maybe it doesn’t exist and I thought it did, I’m not sure. Lol.

          Societally, this poem is about… Well, pretty much nothing, actually. I didn’t have to read it at school. It’s not even something we learn about, mostly because it’s a Portuguese (I mean, from Portugal) book. I just love to read and tried to read on my own. Guess I’m a nerd, too! 😛

          Liked by 1 person

        • simp7fan says:

          Glad to learn the Portuguese translation. 🙂 Glad that you’re right. 😉

          Liked by 1 person

Join or create a discussion. Leave a reply. Mark* It ^Up!

